Fathers Day: Remembering Daddy

Posted: June 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

My father has been gone 13 years now, a quick victim of an even quicker cancer, and there’s not a day that goes by I don’t think of him.  For that reason, Fathers Day has a bittersweet quality for me.  My father is one of the strongest, wisest, grounded people I have ever known and, even now, influences my life in countless ways.

I was a single mother to two small boys when my dad formally, and finally, retired.  He is a former Marine with a degree in poli sci and worked construction all his life simply because he enjoyed the hard physical labor and the pride in being able to say “I built that”.  So, when Dad retired and had time on his hands, he filled it with my boys, teaching them the same things he had taught me: how to throw a baseball, how to hold a paint brush and how to drink Hershey’s syrup out of the bottle without getting it on the floor.  He is the only male role model my boys had for many years and today it’s so obvious to see where some of their more ingrained traits come from: my oldest son’s sense of honor and integrity, the younger one’s spontaneity and love of adventure.

I don’t speak of my dad in the past tense- I can’t.  Not when I look around me and see evidence of him everywhere in my life, of his influence on all the people I love.  My dad is an incredibly spiritual man and he promised me if there was a way back he would find it, just to let me know he was all right.  He did.  I see him with me every time I look at my boys.  I feel his reaching out to me when my mother tells stories of their early years together.  He tugs on my shirtsleeve if I’m wrestling with a problem and don’t quite know what to do.  He has taken up residence on my shoulder and guides my actions with his wisdom and wit.

Daddy’s not here to go shopping with anymore, or taste test the latest meringue pie, but in no way has his presence disappeared from my life. I am so very grateful I had the kind of upbringing I did, the background I come from.  But,more than that, I’m grateful for the kind of father I had- one whose influence was not only felt across the miles but, now, even across time.

I love you, Daddy.  I’ll leave the light on for you…..

 

 

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Can’t read through the tears

Leave a Reply

