Back From Vacation…..

Posted: July 15, 2013 in Uncategorized

Howdy-doody, boys and girls!!! Y’all miss me? Been about a year- I was afraid my parking spot would be gone! But, here we are, together again, and my, my, my what’s happened in a year…..I’d like to say I was in Tahiti with Naveen Andrews, sucking down Mai Tais and working on my novel- no, unfortunately.  No, instead I took a vicodin holiday and when I returned it was time to join the real world again, sans operational left shoulder. But, what the hell- I’m still mostly vertical, right?
So, in my absense, many things have happened: the re-election of Fraud and Corruption, the Non-End-Of-The-World, the George Zimmerman Trial. That’s just for starters. Toss in what DIDN’T happen and we’re right back where we left off: no 4th of July or 2nd Revolution, no saviors in White Hats, no church bells ringing, no people singing…sorry, I digress. I guess my point is: same shit, different day. In fact, if I had been in a coma for the last 12 months I wouldn’t have noticed anything changed.

And maybe that’s the problem. Maybe I HAVE been in a coma for the last 12 months. Maybe we ALL have.  And maybe that, too, is the problem.  When Barack Obama took the White House in 2012 alot of us were not altogether surprised.  There were two camps of opinion, both equally fucked up: 1). re-elect him because he’s Black and one of Us and 2) don’t vote for Romney because he’s White and NOT one of us.  Conservative, liberal- who really gives a shit anymore?  The labels breed separatism-isn’t THAT obvious by now??  My husband calls me an “armchair Senator” because I call play-by-play on C-SPAN (yeah, I know, I need a life…)but the truth is ANYONE with a rational thinking process can see we’re headed for disaster-that this is not “currently a path to sustainability”  (if I hear THAT word one more fuckin’ time….).  And to be honest, all I really want to do is run away and join the circus.

I need inspiration and I can’t get it here-landlocked between 2 rivers in the upper Midwest. I fully understand why this is a “fly-over” state.

I hear the calliope callin’ me, kiddies……

Leave a Reply

