Day One of the Odyssey…

Posted: March 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

   So, this wasn’t even my idea really.  I’ve been keeping a journal for as long as I can remember, and in recent times it’s turned into more of a Log of Weird Shit Happening- mostly so my kids will have an historically accurate account (well, relatively accurate…) of events in this incredibly bizarre time we live in.

I was a child of the 80’s and I must’ve had a good time then because I don’t remember much. The atmosphere was different then- *I* was different then. Sure, it was strange-we chained ourselves to the gates of nuke plants and bitched about South African bananas. We had four or five roommates and always bought the best concert tickets before we paid rent.  There were Thursday night poker games, Nickel draft on Fridays and we could always find cigarette money in the couch cushions. As crazy as it was to go out all night and keep a change of clothes in your trunk for work the next morning (c’mon-who DIDN’T do that?)  the air didn’t smell as strange as it does now-not nearly as much like ozone, volitile before a lightning strike.

And that’s why I’m here. Because there’s something coming-something not altogether unbidden,not altogether surprising if we connect the dots. I’m here to connect dots and see if a coherent picture can be drawn out of seemingly unconnected, unassuming, even uninteresting events.  Its my journal in html.  It may not always make sense but even sentence fragments have a purpose and random phrases from passing strangers can answer silent prayers.  Maybe we can figure this all out together…

Leave a Reply

